Pete the Cat

From the moment I heard Pete the Cat and his Four Groovy Buttons, I wanted to make my own flannel and read/sing it with the babies at my Baby Storytime. However, I just didn’t think it would work. I’m not sure how flying buttons would go over with children who are barely crawling or walking and love to put all things in the their months. So I put the idea on hold. Until last month.

I found Pete the Cat I Love My White Shoes. I’m not sure why it took me so long to find this book/song. With a little help from the staff in our Kidmobile department, I was able to create somewhat of a pattern by enlarging a photo from the Groovy Buttons book. (The kidmobile ladies put together an awesome, awesome version of Pete using craft foam, which was the inspiration for my version.)

Pete the Cat

Pete the Cat

I figured it would be easier to create a stand up Pete that could be used for multiple stories instead of several Petes. I mounted him on foamboard to make his sturdy and used some wire I found to make his whiskers. His shirt is attached with Velcro, and the center can be easily removed for the Groovy Buttons story. And he is glued to a paint stick, so I can sit on the carpet with the babies and tell his story without an actual flannel board.

2 thoughts on “Pete the Cat

Leave a Reply

